top of page

(Dis)comfort Zone

"Do you know how to speak spanish?" "Oh so you speak spanish really well?" These are the questions I received as I would tell people that I'd be spending my fall semester studying abroad in Argentina.

The answer to those questions is no. No, I didn't speak spanish before I came here. The following looks would be of concern and sympathy as if I said I was going into a bad neighborhood at night. The truth was I was excited that I didn't know the language, it wasn't intimidating to me at all. I simply looked at it as a challenge, and a chance to be completely culturally immersed into my new home.

As I got out of the car and walked into the airport I started to laugh, quite uncontrollably; a nervous laugh if you will. The thought of studying abroad is beyond measures of excitement, and I was so ready. Although in that moment I started to realize how absolutely crazy the idea is. You board a plane by yourself that takes you to a completely unknown country. Next, you find yourself starving trying to order a coffee and a muffin in a language you truly don't know. Finally you meet the strangers you're about to spend the next 15 weeks with dressed in clothes that have now been on your body for an entire day. All of those things I just listed can be classified as discomfort. Discomfort is defined as an absence of comfort or ease. I believe that it is within these moments of discomfort that we grow and learn the most about ourselves. Studying abroad is full of discomfort, it's waiting for you at every turn.

Within my month of living in Buenos Aires I would not say I'm comfortable, I would use the word settled. This city is exciting and full of life. It's also full of coffee shops, champions league dog walkers and platform shoes. I've been surprised by everything and everyone. I've been overwhelmed with grace and humility each step of the way. If you're thinking about studying abroad, do it. Do it without fear, because there is truly nothing to be afraid of. Learn to thrive within discomfort, don't look forward to those times being over and pushing toward the next comfortable plateau. Embrace the change and allow the world and how you see it to become new again.

P.S. If you want to order a coffee and muffin in spanish or in Argentina, look no further. Simply say "Hola, quiero un cafe con leche y muffin de arandano por favor." Before you know it you'll receive a coffee with milk along with a blueberry muffin! Oh and don't worry, we'll be talking more about coffee later.

bottom of page